image

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C.

“I was just trying to be, you know, a little bit happy out there and enjoy it” Woods reason after his Saturday results capsized  “Unfortunately, that’s not how I play. Tiger missed a short birdie putt on No. 3 on Sat, then made bogeys on three of his
next four holes. Woods faced a 7-footer for par on No. 8 when heavy rain delayed things until Sunday morning. Thunderstorms a halt to play until Sunday morning with Woods 3-over through seven
holes.

image

But his free-fall was broken by a relatively cushy landing as he’ll have the opportunity to regroup and salvage his round. He missed the putt for another bogey to fall six shots behind eventual champion Rory McIlroy. It was the latest example of Woods playing well early in majors, then watching things go sideways on the weekend. Woods wouldn’t say why he changed, only that he won’t do it again. “I was trying to enjoy the process,” Woods said.
“But that’s not how I play. I play full systems go, all out, intense, and that’s how I won 14 of these things.”
Woods, though, has gone four years without winning any majors. McIlroy
blew away the field with an eight-stroke victory. The 23-year-old from Northern Ireland played 13 shots better than Woods over the weekend.
And Woods said “He’s very good. We all know the talent he has”
“I’ve won my second major at the same age as he had,” McIlroy said.
View full Leaderboard

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image